logo for page printing

Extension

 
1890 ExtensionThe 1890 Extension Program offers the majority of outreach programs and services to the citizens of South Carolina on behalf of SC State University. Extension’s programs provide life long learning opportunities that help rural and urban limited-resource clients improve their level and quality of living.

The 1890 Extension Program began in 1897 as the Farmers Institute for Negroes in South Carolina. This early venture stimulated the state Legislature in 1913 to appropriate $2,000 for extension work among black farmers. Today, the 1890 Extension Program delivers programs to 33 of the 46 counties in the state and offers programs in the following areas:

Contact an Extension staff member listed below to obtain more information about a particular 1890 Extension program. or, for details on 1890 Extension, contact Delbert T. Foster, 1890 Extension Administrator, at (803) 536-8460 or dfoster@scsu.edu.



4-H Youth Development  

A national youth organization which helps young people learn leadership, citizenship and life skills through mostly hands-on learning.

Contacts:

Senior Extension Director
Vacant
Office: (803) 536-8460

Samuel Felder, Extension Agent
Office: (803) 516-4893
sfelder@scsu.edu

Avona McHoney
Extension Agent
Office: (803) 536-8555
amchoney@scsu.edu
Back To Top

Adult Leadership and Community Development 

The Adult Leadership and Community Development program provides workshops and personal consultation that help build leadership skills and increase entrepreneurship across the state.

Contacts:
Charles Artis, Program Coordinator, Community Outreach
Office: (803) 536-8188
cqartis@scsu.edu

Extension Agent
Vacant
Office: (803) 536-8188
Back To Top

Community Education 

The Community Education program offers academic, financial, recreation, health, agriculture-related and work-preparation courses and activities for adults and children.

Contacts:

Demier Richardson, Senior Extension Director
Office: (803) 533-3664
dricha6@scsu.edu


Back To Top

Family Life  

Family Life programs enhance the quality of living for families and individuals through programs and activities that focus on nutrition, diet, and health; food safety; building family strengths; and managing family resources.

Contacts:

Senior Extension Director

Vacant
Office: (803) 536-8460


Extension Agent, Family Life
Vacant
Office: (803) 536-8460


Extension Agent, Family Life
Vacant
Office: (803) 536-8460


Back To Top

Mobile Technology


The 1890 Extension Mobile Technology Center is a sleek stylized Winnebago, retrofitted as a mobile classroom. Known as the 1890 Extension Mobile Technology Center, the classroom is furnished with a 12-station computer lab linked to the Internet via satellite and state-of-the art multimedia equipment. In keeping with the land-grant philosophy of delivering education and services to the citizens of South Carolina with a special emphasis on the underserved populations, the 1890 Program often takes the technology center to churches, schools and frequent events.


Contact:


Latisha Ford
Extension Agent
Office: (803) 533-3772


Extension Agent
Vacant
Office: (803) 536-8460


Back To Top

Northeastern Corridor of Orangeburg Community Development Corporation (NCO CDC) 

The NCO CDC offers community-based programs and initiatives that address the problems confronting communities near SC State University.

Contact:

Karen Henderson
Executive Director
Office: (803) 531-8189 or 531-1916
khender6@scsu.edu


Alfred McIntosh
Budget Analyst
Office: (803) 531-8189 or 531-1916
acorbit2@scsu.edu

Back To Top

Small Farm Assistance and Outreach  

Small Farm Assistance and Outreach programs build awareness of agricultural entrepreneurship among farmers and promote entrepreneurial opportunities.

Contact:

Edoe Agbodjan
Senior Extension Director
Office: (803) 533-3672
eagbodjan@scsu.edu



1890 Research and Extension has several Extension offices in South Carolina that provide programs and activities for limited-resource families and individuals in the communities they serve. To find out what is offered in your community, contact the office nearest you.

Back To Top

Anderson County

Serves Anderson, Greenville and Spartanburg counties

Contacts:

Willis Bannister, Extension Agent
Office: (864) 266-0538
wbannister@scsu.edu

Boyd Owens, Extension Agent, 4-H Youth Development
bowens@scsu.edu

Janice Scott
Extension Agent
jscott79@scsu.edu

Cheryl Addison
Program Assistant, 4-H & Youth Development
caddison@scsu.edu

Office: (864) 332-0910 or (864) 332-0912

 


Charleston Cluster

Serves Charleston, Berkeley and Dorchester counties

Contacts:

Extension Agent
Vacant

Office: (843) 720-0825

 


Greenwood Cluster

Serves Abbeville, Edgefield, Greenwood, McCormick and Saluda counties

Contacts:

Curtis Hill
Extension Agent
Office: 864-223-3264
chhill@scsu.edu

Office: 864-223-3264

 


Hampton Cluster

Serves Allendale, Beaufort, Colleton, Hampton and Jasper counties

Contacts:

Ishmel Washington
Senior Extension Director
iwashington@scsu.edu

Cornelius Hamilton
Extension Agent
chamilt3@scsu.edu

Esther Manuel
Program Assistant, EFNEP
emanuel@scsu.edu

Cynthia Williams
Program Assistant, EFNEP
Cwilli37@scsu.edu

Pearlie Brantley
Administrative Support
pbrantley@scsu.edu

Office: (803) 943-3538 or 943-5049

 


Marlboro Cluster

Serves Dillon, Florence, Marion and Marlboro counties

Contacts:

Senior Extension Director
Vacant

Extension Agent
Adult Leadership and Community Development
Vacant

Extension Agent
4-H Youth Development
Vacant

Murray Nesmith
Extension Agent, Agriculture
mnesmith@scsu.edu

Shawn Smith
Administrative Support
ssmith38@scsu.edu

Office: (843) 479-6991 or (843) 479-6998

 


Orangeburg Cluster

Bowman

Contacts:

Program Assistant, EFNEP
Vacant
Office: (803) 553-3823

Mark Nettles, Extension Agent
Extension Agent, Agriculture
Office: (803) 533-3825
mnettles@scsu.edu

Monica Davis
Administrative Support
Office: (803) 533-3823
mdavis@scsu.edu

 


Orangeburg

Contacts:

Please see 4-H Youth Development, Adult Leadership and Community Development, Community Education, Family Life, Northeastern Corridor of Orangeburg Community Development Corporation (NCO CDC), and Small Farm Assistance and Outreach.



Williamsburg Cluster

Serves Clarendon, Florence, Sumter and Williamsburg Counties

Contacts:

Darryl Johnson
Senior Extension Director
djohnson@scsu.edu
Office: (843) 355-6106 ext. 112

 


Camp Harry E. Daniels


Contacts:


Park Ranger
Vacant

Odessa Sharperson
Buildings and Grounds Specialist
osharper@scsu.edu

Clarence Summers
Park Ranger
csummers4@scsu.edu

Theodore Williams
Master Skilled Tradesman
twilli44@scsu.edu

Office: (803) 891-2117 or (803) 897-2759