SC State Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony

Friday, September 5, 2008


Six football standouts, one of the greatest basketball players in school history, an all-conference wrestler and baseball player, and a long-time athletic trainer make up the 2008 South Carolina State Athletic Hall of Fame Class to be enshrined this year.

The dinner and induction ceremony honoring the group is set for 7 p.m. Sept. 5 at Smith-Hammond-Middleton Memorial Center on the campus. Tickets are $50 for adults and $35 for children 15 and under. A table sitting 10 persons is available at a discount rate of $450. For tickets or additional information, call 803-536-8579, 803-536-7242 or 803-536-7060.

Football standouts among the enshrines include two living in Orangeburg – native Anthony Reed (1978-82), an All-America fullback, and Sidney Fulton III (1978-82), who earned All-America honors at linebacker.

Reed, an Orangeburg-Wilkinson product, became the second Bulldog rusher to gain 1,000 yards when he rushed for 1,169 yards and 11 touchdowns as a senior in1982. In 1981, he was just short of the coveted mark as he amassed 933 yards with nine scores. He was a first-team All-MEAC selection twice and earned All-America accolades by both the Sheridan Broadcasting Network and America Football Coaches Association I-AA in both 1981 and 1982.

A member of the SC State Centennial (1907-2007) football team honored last season, Reed currently is employed by United Parcel Service (UPS) in Orangeburg.

A Sardinia, SC native, Fulton was among the Bulldog leaders in tackles during his Bulldog career. From his inside linebacker position, he anchored a Bulldog defense that was among the best in the MEAC in both 1981 and 1982, the same years he earned All-MEAC first-team recognition.

He was an SBN All-American in 1981 when the Bulldogs made their first trip to the then-I-AA playoffs and earned Black National Champions honors after finishing 10-3. He, too, was named to the Bulldog Centennial team recognized last year.
Today, Fulton, who resides in Orangeburg with his family, is CEO of S&F Investment Inc., and the owner of the Popeye’s franchise and two other area businesses.

Other football standouts to be honored include Barney Bussey (1981-84), Willie Grate (1965-69, posthumous), Robert Reeves (1965-69), and Marvin Marshall (1991-94). Also to be enshrined are Rodney Mack (basketball 1985-89), Michael Holmes (wrestling 1976-80), Samuel Prioleau (baseball 1956-61), and Jimmie Rogers (athletic trainer 1974-89).