SC State 2009 Football Team to be Honored at Statehouse

Thursday, February 18, 2010

The 2009 South Carolina State football team will be honored for outstanding accomplishments with a Concurrent Resolution Thursday, Feb. 18, during a special ceremony at the Statehouse in Columbia, beginning at 10 a.m. The resolution was introduced by Rep. Jerry N. Govan Jr. (D-Orangeburg) of House District 95 and an SC State alumnus.

Joining the Bulldog football team and coaching staff at the ceremony will be SC State president, Dr. George E. Cooper, athletics director Charlene M. Johnson and selected other university officials.

The resolution will recognize the team for a banner season, which included a 10-2 overall record, a perfect 8-0 Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference worksheet and a second straight league title, and back-to-back appearances in the prestigious Football Championship Subdivision (FCS) playoffs.

The Bulldogs also finished number one in all three polls that rank HBCU teams and were declared national champions by the Sheridan Broadcasting Network, BASN/, Heritage Sports Radio Network, the Washington Pigskin Club and the 100 Percent Wrong Club of Atlanta.

Also, the Bulldog mentor and a number of SC State players received several individual postseason accolades.