SC State University Presents the “Best and Brightest” During 2011 Scholarship Gala and Tribute

Saturday, February 26, 2011

SC State University will host the 2011 Scholarship Gala and Tribute on Saturday, Feb. 26, 2011 at 7 p.m. in the Smith-Hammond-Middleton (SHM) Memorial Center, located on the SC State University campus.

The Scholarship Gala and Tribute is a South Carolina State University Foundation event and an annual opportunity to honor students who have distinguished themselves by demonstrating an uncompromising commitment to the tenets of service, integrity and excellence. As the Foundation’s major fundraising event of the year, Gala proceeds are donated to the University to provide scholarship assistance to deserving students.

Due to the continuous support from corporate sponsors, friends and alumni, SC State University will celebrate the academic achievements of four deserving students, deemed as the best and the brightest students at SC State University.  This year’s honorees are Tiffany Atwater, a junior history major from Jonesboro Ga.;  Mollie Jenkins, a junior biology and industrial chemistry major from High Point, N.C.; Ashley Graham, a senior health physics major and Miss SC State University from Sumter, S.C.; and Gwendolyn Love, a junior accounting major from Macon, Ga.

These recipients are thrilled about this prestigious award, and according to Anthony Holloman, vice president for Institutional Advancement and executive director of the South Carolina State University Foundation, alumni and the community should be thrilled as well. “I am happy to be involved with this year’s Scholarship Gala and Tribute. I think that this is a wonderful opportunity to showcase the students here at SC State University who are excelling and who are preparing to compete within our global society,” says Holloman. “I also believe that this is an excellent chance for alumni and potential sponsors to demonstrate their support for these students and for SC State University, an institution committed to the tenets of academic excellence and students first.”

For more information on this year’s Scholarship Gala and Tribute, call (803) 536-8143.