SC State Captures 2010 MEAC Volleyball Championship

Monday, November 22, 2010

SC State Capture 2010 MEAC Women's Volleyball Championship Gleaton Named Most Outstanding Player

Baltimore, Md.--SC State defeated Delaware State, 3-1, to captured the 2010 Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference volleyball championship. This is the second time in 20 years that the Lady Bulldogs has captured the title. The only other title was won in 1990 under current Athletics Director and then head coach Charlene Johnson.

SC State (17-22) started the match a little sluggish but managed to take the early 4-1 lead. The Lady Bulldogs then committed five unforced errors, which allowed Delaware State (18-12) to use a 6-1 run to jump ahead 8-5 in the set. SC State then went on a 5-1 to retake the lead at 10-9. The teams began to exchange points before Delaware State closed the set on a 6-0 to secure the 25-20 Set One victory.

SC State controlled Set Two from the first serve. The Lady Bulldogs opened the set with a 6-1 advantage and never looked back. Delaware State made a push towards the end of the set to pull within four, 24-20, but could not get over the hump. SC State went on to win Set Two, 25-21, and tie the match at 1-1.

After Delaware State scored the first two points to begin Set Three, SC State went on a 6-2 run to take the 6-4 lead and never relinquished it. They Lady Bulldogs stayed aggressive through the entire set, increasing their lead to 16-10 and holding off a mini run by Delaware State to win Set Three, 25-17.

The teams battled for most Set Four with SC State enjoying a two point lead for the majority of the set. Delaware State put together a 4-0 run at the 19-15 mark to tie the game at 19. The teams then went point-for-point before the Lady Bulldogs pulled out the set at 26-24 and the match 3-1.

"I'm so happy for this team," said fourth year head coach Millicent Sylvan, who was named the Most Outstanding Coach. "It just feel good to see the ladies achieve a goal that you've worked so hard for."

Senior Jarne Gleaton, the 2010 MEAC Player of the Year and the tournament Most Outstanding Player, led the way with a double-double 18 kills and 10 digs. It was a total team effort as three players recorded double-digit kills while four different players recorded double-digit digs. Shabree Roberson, who was named to the All-Tournament Team put down 18 kills and Desire Waller added 10 kills in the match. Melissa Robinson led the team defensively with a game-high 26 digs. In addition to Gleaton and Robinson, Paige Webb contributed 16 and Bria Brimmer picked up 11 digs. Brimmer also put a game-high 49 set assists in the victory. Roberson also had a game-high eight total blocks (3 solo-5 assists).

"Watching this team capture the Title bought back so many memories and I'm so elated for this team," said Athletics Director Charlene M. Johnson. "Through all the ups and downs Coach Sylvan, her coaching staff and team has faced this season they never gave up. I would like to personally thank the coaches for all their hard work and the Administration for their continued support and this championship shows that all of it has paid off."

With the win, the Lady Bulldogs receive the conference’s automatic qualification to the 2010 NCAA Volleyball Championship Tournament. The selection show will air on November 28 at 3 p.m. EST. on ESPNews.