SC State University Department of Athletics CERTIFIED

Thursday, March 10, 2011

The NCAA announced TODAY that SC State University and 25 other Division I institutions have met its requirements for athletics certification.

A designation of certified means that an institution operates its athletics program in substantial conformity with operating principles adopted by the Division I membership. All 335 active Division I members participate in the athletics certification process.

“Today is a very proud moment for the institution, the athletics department specifically, and all of our stakeholders,” said SC State athletics director Charlene Johnson upon learning of the news that the University was one of 26 schools whose athletics programs were certified by the NCAA.

“We are extremely pleased that our athletics program has been certified by the NCAA,” continued Johnson. “Being granted certification affirms the university’s commitment to athletics and to our student-athletes and their welfare.

“Individuals from across the campus, including our administration, faculty, staff, board members and community representatives participated in evaluating our athletics program and we thank each of them, especially Dr. George Cooper,  our president and Dr. Carl Jones, who chaired the Steering Committee.”

Dr. Cooper echoed Johnson’s sentiments and commended the Bulldog athletics director for her leadership as head of the athletics department. It takes an enormous amount of hard work to make sure that your athletics department is in compliance with NCAA rules and regulations.

“I am extremely proud and excited that SC State University has earned NCAA certification,” Cooper said. Earning certification in our athletics program means that we have met the standards required, and underscores the hard work of the athletics administration, coaches, staff and student-athletes.

“We especially appreciate the role of Dr. Carl Jones and the Steering Committee for their oversight of the certification process.”

The purpose of athletics certification is to ensure integrity in the institution’s athletics program and to assist institutions in improving their athletics departments. NCAA legislation mandating athletics certification was adopted in 1993.

 The certification process, which involves a self-study led by an institution’s president or chancellor, includes a review of these primary components: governance and commitment to rules compliance; academic integrity; and gender/diversity issues and student-athlete well-being. Each member institution is to complete a self-study at least once every 10 years.

The Division I Committee on Athletics Certification preliminarily reviews an institution’s certification materials and provides a list of issues identified during the evaluation. The university then hosts a visit by peer reviewers who file a report regarding the institution’s resolution of those issues before a final certification decision is rendered. An institution’s failure to satisfactorily respond to the committee may negatively impact certification status.

The certification process is separate from the NCAA’s enforcement program, which investigates allegations of rules violations by NCAA member institutions. A decision of certified does not exempt an institution from concurrent or subsequent enforcement proceedings.

The NCAA Committee on Infractions may ask the Committee on Athletics Certification to review an institution’s certification status as a result of a completed infractions case.

The 25 other schools certified are: Bethune-Cookman University , Boston University, Campbell University, Canisius College, Columbia University-Barnard College, DePaul University , Eastern Illinois University, Eastern Washington University, Elon University, Fordham University, George Mason University, Idaho State University, Indiana University-Purdue University at Indianapolis, Iona College, La Salle University, Portland State University, Southeastern Louisiana University, United States Air Force Academy, United States Naval Academy, University of Arkansas, Pine Bluff, University of Denver, University of Georgia, University of Maryland, College Park, University of Nevada, Reno, and University of Wyoming

The members of the Committee on Athletics Certification are: Anthony Archbald, Princeton University; John Balog, Jacksonville University; Robert Bernardi, Nicholls State University; Henry Brooks, University of Maryland, Eastern Shore; Ann Carr, Mississippi State University; Roger Caves, San Diego State University; Casey Comoroski, Missouri State University; Beth DeBauche, Ohio Valley Conference; Tom Douple, The Summit League; John M. Dunn, Western Michigan University; Amy Folan, University of Texas at Austin; Joanne Glasser (chair), Bradley University; Angela Johnson “A.J.” Grube, Western Carolina University; Barbara Luebke, University of Rhode Island; Sheila Patterson, Cleveland State University; William Perry, Eastern Illinois University; Judy Van Horn, University of South Carolina; and Sarah Wilhelmi, West Coast Conference.