Miss SC State 2010-2011 to be featured in September Issue of Ebony Magazine

Thursday, June 23, 2011

Ashley N. GrahamAshley N. Graham, Miss SC State University 2010 to 2011, will grace the pages of the September 2011 HBCU (Historically Black Colleges and Universities) Queens issue of Ebony magazine. Queens from all HBCUs competed in an online voting competition. Voters based their selection on the queens’ biographies and a video stating why she should be an HBCU Queen in Ebony.  The top 10 winners will be featured in the magazine.

There were over two million votes cast for the campus queens and Graham placed second in the online competition. Graham, a 2011 physics graduate of SC State, is elated about being chosen to represent her University. “It is truly humbling to be thought worthy enough to represent my Alma Mater on such a grand and national scale!  This feat is the manifestation of what SC State stands for--unity, purpose, pride and tenacity.  Success is the result of perseverance, and I am so excited and grateful to have been chosen,” says Graham.  “This conquest is not my own.  I could not do it alone.  It is one that I owe and share with my SC State University family, the Orangeburg community, family, friends and even strangers.” 

While at SC State, Graham, a Sumter, S.C. native, participated in several activities and was a member of a number of organizations, to include: Women in Nuclear; Society of Physics Students (vice president); Sigma Pi Sigma National Physics Honors Society (vice president, Chapter Charter member); American Nuclear Society; Alpha Kappa Psi Professional Business Fraternity, Incorporated (vice president of finance); South Carolina Alliance for Minorities Participation Program (SCAMP); Golden Key International Honour Society; SC State University’s Honors College; Student Orientation Leader; Miss Black & Gold of the Beta Delta Chapter of Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Incorporated; Miss Freshman (2007-2008); Miss Sophomore (2008-2009); Miss Junior (2009-2010); Leadership Council senator and a member of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Incorporated.

All queens chosen in voting order were: Desiree Williams, Hampton University; Ashley N. Graham, South Carolina State University; Tiffany Sorrells, Benedict College; De’Jonique Garrison, Clark Atlanta University; Jasmine Gurley, North Carolina A&T State University; Ashlee Thomas, Howard University; Charnee’ Pearson-Starling, Bennett College; Charlena Kennedy, Bethune-Cookman University; Neshaszda Brown, Albany State University and Breana Watkins, Tuskegee University.