SC State students inducted into national honor society

Tuesday, November 19, 2013

Over a half dozen SC State University students were recognized for their outstanding academic achievements in criminal justice when they were inducted into Alpha Phi Sigma, the National Criminal Justice Honor Society.  The university’s Gamma Phi chapter held the ceremony Sunday, Oct. 12 on the campus. The inductees are:

  • Devern Coleman, a junior from Lancaster, S.C.
  • Vianney Gomez, a senior from Antioch, Calif.
  • Dominique Goyner, a senior from Columbia, S.C.
  • Jamal Manigo, a senior from Summerville, S.C.
  • Rashad McDuffie, a senior from Chester, S.C.
  • Amber Mondane, a senior from Chicago, Ill.
  • Aquino Spann, a senior from Summerville, S.C.

Alpha Phi Sigma honors and promotes academic excellence, community service, educational leadership and unity among undergraduate and graduate criminal justice students, as well those in Juris Doctorate programs. The only criminal justice honor society, Alpha Phi Sigma is a certified member of the Association of College Honor Societies and is affiliated with the Academy of Criminal Justice Sciences.

Membership benefits include eligibility for scholarships, internships, involvement in the national conference and the opportunity to interact with other goal-oriented, energetic students. Members also have a chance to meet and network with professionals at the local, state and national levels.

To be inducted into Alpha Phi Sigma a student must have met the following qualifications: 1) completed one-third of the credit hours required for graduation, with at least 12 credit hours in the criminal justice field, 2) be recommended by a local chapter advisor or faculty member, 3) possess and maintain a 3.2 cumulative and major GPA, 4) rank in the top 35 percent of his or her class and 5) have declared criminal justice as a major or minor.

Alpha Phi Sigma was founded in 1942 at Washington State University under the leadership of Dr. V. A. Leonard. The Gamma Phi chapter at SC State was chartered in April 2001. Since the chapter’s inception, student members have been involved in a number of cultural, scholarly and service activities on campus and in the community.

Following the ceremony, a reception was held for the new inductees and their 50 guests, who included classmates, friends, parents and faculty.  Alumni members of the chapter, Aleece Coker, past president and secretary; Shaquila LeGare, past president and vice president and Xavier Thompson, former treasurer, returned to witness and assist with the induction ceremony.  Sgt. Major Woodrow Morgan from university campus police and Arah Pinson from the Department of English and Modern Languages were also in attendance.

For additional information, please contact Giselle White-Perry, chapter advisor and assistant professor of criminal justice, at (803) 536-8803 or 536-8600.