SC State University Tennis Team Sweeps Top Seeds in Tournament

Tuesday, April 17, 2007


South Carolina State University Sweeps Top Seeds in Tournament

VIRGINIA BEACH, Va. - The defending MEAC Champion South Carolina State men and women’s tennis programs dominated conference play to secure the top seeds in the 2007 MEAC Tennis Championship tournament scheduled for April 20-22 at the Millbrook Tennis Center in Raleigh, N.C.

The Bulldogs (14-7) clinched the number one seed by sweeping MEAC opponents with a 9-0 conference record. Last season South Carolina State men’s team defeated Florida A&M, 4-3, to earn their third consecutive MEAC Tennis Championship and sixth overall.

MEAC men’s tennis teams were very competitive in conference play during the 2007 campaign, providing a three-way tie for the number two seed. The Hampton Pirates secured the position following the conference’s tie-breaking system with Norfolk State and Florida A&M following closely behind at the number three and four positions. Bethune-Cookman rounded out the top five.

The Lady Bulldogs (18-5) were also unbeaten among conference opponents throughout the 2007 season securing their top position with a 10-0 MEAC record. Currently ranked 75th in the FILA Collegiate Tennis Rankings, the Lady Bulldogs are vying for their third straight MEAC title and fourth overall when they open up tournament play on Friday.

The Bethune-Cookman Lady Wildcats clinched the number two spot on the women’s side followed by Hampton (No. 3), Florida A&M (No. 4) and Howard (No. 5).

Only the top eight teams, from both the men and women’s programs, can compete for the championship title. Maryland Eastern Shore and Coppin State have been eliminated from the men’s tournament while North Carolina A&T, Delaware State and Maryland Eastern Shore have been eliminated on the women’s side by virtue of conference records.

Men’s Seedings Women’s Seedings

1. South Carolina State University (9-0) 1. South Carolina State University (10-0)

2. Hampton University (7-2)* 2. Bethune-Cookman University (9-1)

3. Norfolk State University (7-2)* 3. Hampton University (8-2)

4. Florida A&M University (7-2)* 4. Florida A&M University (7-3)

5. Bethune-Cookman University (5-4) 5. Howard University (6-4)

6. Howard University (4-5) 6. Norfolk State University (5-5)

7. Morgan State University (3-6) 7. Coppin State University (3-7)**

8. Delaware State University (2-7) 8. Morgan State University (3-7)**

*Seeding based on MEAC multiple tie-breaking system

**Seeding based on MEAC two-way tie breaking system