Two new members elected to SC State University Board of Trustees

Monday, June 4, 2007

ORANGEBURG – The South Carolina General Assembly has elected two new at-large trustees for South Carolina State University and reappointed incumbent trustees from three congressional districts.

Sky Foster, ‘77, of Greer, has been elected to fill the Seat #12, At-Large position. Foster, who serves as Manager of Recruiting, Payroll and Compensation for BMW Manufacturing Co. in Greer, is a member of Compass of Carolina, the Society of Human Resources, Urban League of the Upstate and the Palmetto Society. She earned a Bachelor of Science degree from SC State and also earned a Master of Science degree from N.C. Central University.

The Seat #12 position was previously held by Brantley Evans, ‘92, who vacated the seat in mid-2006. Foster’s term expires in 2008.

Dr. Shirley Portee Martin, ‘76, ‘98, of Goose Creek, has been elected to fill the Seat #8, At-Large position. The former Calhoun County school superintendent currently serves as consultant specializing in K-12 programs. Martin has previously served on the Goose Creek Recreation Commission and is a member of several professional and civic organizations. She earned both Bachelor of Science and Doctor of Education degrees from SC State, and also earned a master’s degree from the University of South Carolina.

The Seat #8 position was previously held by Neville O. Lorick, first elected in 2000, who vacated the seat after retiring as president of the South Carolina Electric & Gas Co. in mid- 2006. Martin’s term expires in 2009.

“I am grateful to Trustees Lorick and Evans for their loyal and dedicated service to South Carolina State University; they both have made a tremendous difference and impact,” said Board Chairman Maurice G. Washington, ‘85.

“I look forward to working with newly elected Trustees Foster and Martin,” he continued. “Both bring professional and personal skill sets that will strengthen the Board and advance South Carolina State.”

Reappointed to their seats on SC State’s Board of Trustees were Karl V. Green of Charleston (Seat #1, District #1), Reggie Gallant of Columbia, (Seat #2, District #2) and Dr. John H. Corbitt, ‘62, of Greenville (Seat #4, District #4).

Sitting board members include Lumus Byrd, ‘65 (Seat #3, District #3); Linda Edwards-Duncan, ‘76, ‘81 (Seat #5, District #5); Maurice G. Washington, ‘85 (Seat #6, District #6); Charles H. Williams II, Esq. (Seat #7, At-Large); Earl A. Bridges, Esq. (Seat #9, At-Large); Jonathan N. Pinson, ‘93 (Seat #10, At-Large); Col. (Retired) John T. Bowden Jr. (Seat #11, At-Large) and Martha Scott Smith (Governor’s appointee).

The full body will convene for the first time at the annual SC State University Board Trustees Retreat, to be held the first week of June in Charleston, S.C.