Dr. M. Evelyn Fields to serve second term as President of Faculty Senate

Wednesday, August 8, 2007

ORANGEBURG – Dr. M. Evelyn Fields, associate professor of child development and director of Head Start education in the Department of Family & Consumer Sciences, was reconfirmed by the SC State faculty for a second term as President of the Faculty Senate this past April. She will serve a two-year term beginning Aug. 15, 2007. Fields was first elected in November 2005; this is her eighth year at the University.

“This is a weighty responsibility,” said Fields. “I am humbled to serve at the University in this capacity. The faculty is the key to academic excellence, and it is my goal to get as many faculty as I can excited about and engaged in shared governance.”

Dr. Thomas Cassidy, professor of English for 16 years, was also reconfirmed as Vice President of the Faculty Senate for a second term. Also elected by the Faculty Senate to complete the Executive Committee were: Dr. Ora Spann, associate professor of business administration as Treasurer; Dr. Lewis Carter, assistant professor of speech pathology and audiology as Parliamentarian; Dr. William H. Whitaker Jr., assistant professor of fashion merchandising as Corresponding Secretary; and Cynthia Davis, instructor of computer science.

The full senate will convene on Tuesday, Sept. 4, 2007.