SC State University Board of Trustees names Presidential Search Committee members

Wednesday, January 2, 2008

The SC State University Board of Trustees met today via teleconference to announce the members of the Presidential Search Committee. The Board anticipates appointing SC State’s Tenth President in July 2008.

Although the Board of Trustees is audited annually, today the Board requested that special emphasis (both the internal and external audits) be placed on contractual arrangements relative to the Board. In addition, Interim President Leonard McIntyre appointed interim associate vice presidents for academic affairs.

The Presidential Search Committee is comprised of 15 members representing the Board of Trustees, faculty, staff, students, alumni, state legislature and the corporate community.

SC State Board of Trustees members serving on the committee include Earl Bridges, Lumus Byrd, Reggie Gallant and Board Chairman Maurice G. Washington. The faculty representative will be Dr. Evelyn Fields, president of the SC State Faculty Senate. The staff representative will be the Honorable Lonnie Hosey, director of the Adult and Continuing Education Program at SC State. The student representative will be Jeremy Rogers, president of the Student Government Association. Alumni Representatives include Col. (RET) Ned Felder, parliamentarian of the South Carolina State University National Alumni Association (SCSUNAA) and Harry Hoskins, president of the Washington, D.C., SCSUNAA chapter.;

Other members of the committee include: Board of Visitors/Corporate Representative, James C. Hampton, field systems operator, Lockheed Martin; Corporate/Community Representative, Randy Snell, director of human resource management, Zeus Industries; Community Representative, Carole Cato; Political Representatives, The Honorable Andre Bauer, S.C. lieutenant governor, The Honorable Leon Howard, business and chairman of the S.C. legislative black caucus, and Inez Tenenbaum, former S.C. superintendent of education.

“I am excited about working and interacting with this awesome group of diverse, dynamic individuals who have agreed to serve as members of the SC State University presidential search committee,” said Maurice G. Washington, chairman of the SC State University Board of Trustees. “Their varied backgrounds and expertise will assist the Board with identifying and ultimately appointing the next president of SC State,” he added.

Washington will serve as the chairman of the Presidential Search Committee and Trustee Lumus Byrd Jr. will serve as vice chairman. The inaugural meeting of the SC State University Presidential Search Committee will be held on Monday, Jan. 14, 2008, on the SC State campus.

Interim President Leonard A. McIntyre announced the appointment of both Dr. Learie Luke, former interim chairman for the department of social sciences, and Dr. Christine Boone, former chairwoman for the social work department, to the positions of the interim associate vice presidents of academic affairs.