SC State to recognize Faculty and Staff Employees of the Year during the 113th Founders' Day

Friday, February 13, 2009

SC State will honor nine faculty and staff members during its 113th Founders’ Day Convocation on Sunday, Feb. 22, 2009 at 4 p.m. in the Smith-Hammond-Middleton (SHM) Memorial Center.

Developed in Jan. 1997, the Professor and Staff Employee of the Year Program provides a method of recognition to employees for their performance and dedicated service to SC State.

“I believe that the Professor and Staff Employee of the Year Program rewards and recognizes outstanding employees, and demonstrates an increased commitment and loyalty to improving and maintaining morale and motivation, said Patricia Gibson-Haigler, chairperson of the Professor and Staff Employee of the Year Program. “This Program honors initiatives and contributions made by employees to SC State,” added Gibson-Haigler.

Professor of the Year Awards will be presented to: Dr. Gouhua Ma, College of Business and Applied Professional Sciences; Dr. Angela Shaw Thornberg, College of Education, Humanities and Social Sciences; and Dr. Wagih G. Abdel-Kader, College of Science, Mathematics and Engineering Technology.

Staff Employee of the Year Awards will be presented to: Ethel J. Bryant, Division of Academic Affairs; Willie Brailey, Division of Finance, Facilities and Management Information Systems; Erica S. Prioleau, Division of Institutional Advancement; Carrtina Wright Glover, Office of the President; Demier Z. Richardson, Division of Research and Economic Development; and Joseph B. Thomas, Division of Student Affairs.

In addition to each awardee receiving personal recognition from President George E. Cooper and Division Vice Presidents, a plaque will be given during the Professor and Staff Employee of the Year Luncheon, which will be held on Wednesday, Feb. 18, 2009 (invitation only).

The University Professor and Staff Employee of the Year will be announced during the 113th Founders’ Day Convocation, and honored during the ceremonial passing of the chalice of “Knowledge and Excellence” by President Cooper. They will also receive a monetary gift, one year “reserve” parking compliments and parking signs designated for “Professor of the Year and Staff Employee of the Year.”

SC State’s 113th Founders’ Day Weekend also includes the following activities:

James Brown: Preserving the Legacy Exhibition Opening
I.P. Stanback Museum and Planetarium
Friday, Feb. 20, 2009 at 5:30 p.m.

The 2009 SC State Foundation Scholarship Gala and Tribute
Smith-Hammond-Middleton Memorial Center (SHM)
Saturday, Feb. 21, 2009 at 7 p.m.

The Thomas E. Miller Society Breakfast (Invitation Only)
The Robert Shaw Evans Walnut Room
Sunday, Feb. 22, 2009 at 8 a.m.

The Quarter Century Luncheon (Invitation Only)
K.W. Green Student Center (Bulldog Lounge)
Sunday, Feb. 22, 2009 at 1 p.m.

The Founders’ Day keynote address will be delivered by SC State alumnus, Dr. Anthony O. Parker, president of Albany Technical College in Albany, Ga.

For more information on Founders’ Day activities please contact Lillian Adderson at 803-536-8807 or Deborah Blacknall at (803) 536-8450.