SC State alumnus inducted into the 2009 MEAC Hall of Fame

Friday, March 13, 2009

The Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference (MEAC) enshrined five members into its 2009 Hall of Fame Class on Thursday, Mar. 12, 2009 at the M.C. Benton, Jr. Convention Center in Winston-Salem, N.C.

“We are pleased to acknowledge the accomplishments and contributions that the 2009 MEAC Hall of Fame Inductees have added to their institutions and our conference’s rich legacy,” said Dennis Thomas, MEAC Commissioner. “This is a tremendous class of individuals who have had success not only during their tenure at MEAC institutions but also as leaders in their professions and communities.”

The 2009 MEAC Hall of Fame Class was honored in conjunction with the 2009 MEAC Basketball Tournament, which will be held Mar. 9-14, 2009 at the Lawrence Joel Veterans Memorial Coliseum (LJVM) in Winston-Salem, N.C.

The MEAC Hall of Fame inducted its first class on May 29, 1981, during a 10-year anniversary banquet in Greensboro, N.C. Willie Jeffries, an alumnus of SC State and former SC State head coach was the keynote speaker. Ron Pinckney, a N.Y. sportscaster served as the master of ceremonies.

William Hamilton, an SC State alumnus was inducted into the 2009 MEAC Hall of Fame Class Hamilton was inducted as the conference administrator. Hamilton has served as the sports information director (SID) at SC State for over three decades. Hamilton, a veteran publicist is a talented writer who has provided feature articles and game stories for various newspapers and magazines in an effort to bring awareness to the achievements and accomplishments of SC State’s athletics program.

As a member of the College Sports Information Directors Association (CoSIDA) for over thirty years, Hamilton has garnered many accolades including the CoSIDA Bob Kenworthy Community Service Award (1998) and CoSIDA America Trailblazer Award (2005). He is also a member of the Black College Sports Information Directors Association (BCSIDA) and was named as the BCSIDA Cal Jacox Champ Clark Outstanding SID Award in 1989. Hamilton was named as SC State Employee of the Year in 1999 and inducted into the SC State Athletic Hall of Fame in 2002.

“I look at halls of fame for great athletes and outstanding coaches,” said William Hamilton, sports information director at SC State. “It's a great honor to be chosen this year. I accept this honor with humility and great thanks,” he continued.

Other 2009 MEAC Hall of Fame inductees are:

Gene Lake from Delaware State University was inducted as a student athlete. Lake led all collegiate players with a MEAC and school record 1,722 rushing yards during his junior year at Delaware State University. He earned All-MEAC first-team accolades in 1983 and 1984. He was named as the MEAC Offensive Player of the Year in 1984. Lake holds school record in four categories, including rushing touchdowns in a season (20), career rushing touchdowns (35), points scored in a season (120) and single season rushing yards. The 1983-84 Sheridan Black College All-American and 1984 Kodak All-American finished his career with 3,123 yards on 480 attempts, which ranks third in the Delaware State University record books.

Chris Brown from Norfolk State University was inducted as a student- athlete. Brown was a two-time track and field Division I All-American at Norfolk State (2000-2001). Brown holds school records in the 400 meters, 500 meters, 4x400 meter and sprint medley relay events. He earned All-MEAC honors four times during the 2000-2001 indoor and outdoor track and field seasons in the 200 meter and 400 meter events. He won a silver medal at the 2001 World Championships and placed fourth in 2005 and 2007. Brown, a three-time Olympian, ran the anchor leg of the 4x 400 meter Bahamian relay team that captured the silver medal at the 2008 summer games in Beijing, China.

Joseph McIver from Morgan State University was inducted as the conference administrator. McIver began his professional career at Morgan State University as the first full-time sports information director (SID) in 1974. He spent over 25 years in the profession and was the MEAC conference’s first sports information representative on the 1994-99 MEAC basketball tournament committee. McIver served as the media director for the first college football game ever played in the eastern hemisphere, when Morgan State University and Grambling State played in Tokyo, Japan in 1976. A former member of College Sports Information Directors Association (CoSIDA), he was also a founding member of the Black College Sports Information Directors Association (BCSIDA) from 1995-1999, he served as the president of the BCSIDA. McIver received the Scoop Hudgins Lifetime Achievement award in 2002 and was inducted into the Morgan State Athletic Hall of Fame the same year. He currently serves as the assistant athletic director at Morgan State University.

Charlie Neal was inducted as a special contributor to the MEAC conference. Neal began his broadcasting career over 30 years ago as a radio disc jockey before moving into television as a sportscaster for several affiliates in the Mich., N.Y., Pa. and DC markets. He handled the play-by-play and broadcasting duties for all major sporting events for Black Entertainment Television (BET), including televised MEAC football games. He has been instrumental in providing exposure for MEAC institutions, while using radio and television to feature and profile student-athletes, coaches, and administrators.
Enshrines were selected by an 11 person committee made up of administrators from each member institution. The MEAC Hall of Fame includes former student-athletes, coaches, university conference administrators as well as special contributors, who have enriched the legacy of the conference since its inception in 1969.

Since its establishment in 1981, the Hall of Fame has honored 98 people, including the Class of 2009.