One new member elected to SC State University's Board of Trustees

Wednesday, April 29, 2009

The South Carolina General Assembly has elected one new trustee for SC State, and three incumbents are returning to service.

Matthew Richardson, of Columbia, has been elected to fill the Seat # 8, At-Large position.

The Seat #8 was previously held by Dr. Shirley Portee Martin.

Maurice G. Washington, ‘85 (Seat #6, District #6), Jonathan N. Pinson, ‘93 (Seat #10, At-Large); and Linda Edwards-Duncan, ‘76, ‘81 (Seat #5, District #5) were elected to serve four more years on SC State’s Board of Trustees.

“I want to congratulate Matthew Richardson, Maurice Washington, Jonathon Pinson, and Linda Edwards-Duncan on the success of their election to SC State’s Board of Trustees,” said Lumus Byrd, SC State University board chairman. “I am looking forward to working with each of them, as we diligently move SC State’s agenda forward,” he continued.

Current SC State board members include: Karl V. Green (Seat #1, District #1); Reggie Gallant (Seat #2, District #2); Lumus Byrd, ‘65 (Seat #3, District #3); Dr. John H. Corbitt, ’62 (Seat #4, District #4); Linda Edwards-Duncan, ‘76, ‘81 (Seat #5, District #5); Maurice G. Washington, ‘85 (Seat #6, District #6); Dr. Shirley Portee Martin, ‘76, ’98 (Seat # 8, At-Large) Earl A. Bridges, Esq. (Seat #9, At-Large); Jonathan N. Pinson, ‘93 (Seat #10, At-Large); Walter Tobin Sr., ’63, (Seat #11, At-Large); Lancelot Wright, (Seat #12, At-Large) and Martha Scott Smith (Governor’s appointee).