SC State Joins National Physics Honor Society

Monday, May 18, 2009

Sigma Pi SigmaSouth Carolina State University (SC State) has become a member of the prestigious physics honor society, Sigma Pi Sigma. The SC State chapter of this international organization was chartered on April 21, 2009. A total of 14 students and three faculty members were inducted into the organization at the inaugural ceremony, joining three SC State professors who were already members.

The opening of the new chapter was largely due to the efforts of graduating senior and physics major, Joy Epps, who spent a year planning and processing the application with the help of faculty members.

“This has been a long and sometimes difficult process, but one that was ultimately successful,“ said Epps. “I am so happy that we now have a chapter of Sigma Pi Sigma at my alma mater” she continued.

Epps, the chapter president, is the first physics graduate from SC State to select the health physics option under the SC State physics degree program. She plans to attend graduate school in the field next year.

Sigma Pi Sigma exists to honor outstanding scholarship in the field of physics as well as promote interest in the field at all levels.

“Society members participate in various service projects related to physics such as mentoring students of all ages,” said Dr. Shadia El-Teleaty, the SC State faculty advisor to the chapter. “We are very proud of the accomplishments of our newest members and look forward to growing our society and the physics program at SC State,” El-Teleaty continued.

New student inductees included: Bradley Childs, Jennifer Conwell, Patrick Durant, Joy Epps, Jonathan Evans, Ashley Graham, Shenita Jackson, Jessica Johnson, Christine Jones, Horace Lambert, Sophie Le, Jasmine Oliver, Chester Rodrigues and Whitney Verner. New physics faculty inductees included: Drs. Jennifer Cash, Elizabeth Mayo and Daniel Smith, Jr.