SC State captures three of MEAC’s top postseason honors

Thursday, November 30, 2006

VIRGINIA BEACH, VA – South Carolina State captured three of five of the Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference’s top postseason honors announced today (Nov. 28).

Bulldog senior running back DeShawn Baker was named MEAC Offensive Player of the Year, offensive tackle Clyde Reed the Offensive Lineman of the Year, and freshman runner William “Will” Ford the Rookie of the Year.

The other two awards went to Hampton as Pirate linebacker Justin Danner earned his third straight Defensive Player of the Year accolade and Joe Taylor his second consecutive Coach of the Year award.

Baker and Reed were joined on the All-MEAC first team offensive unit by Bulldog center Raymond Harrison, a Columbia, SC sophomore. SC State defensive lineman Eric Turner was named to the first-team defensive unit, giving Coach Buddy Pough’s team four first-team selections this year. Guard James Lee of Belle Glade, FL was the Bulldogs’ lone selection on the second unit.

Baker, the first Bulldog to earn Offensive Player of the Year honors in 11 seasons, led the MEAC in rushing with 1,289 yards. The Charlotte, NC native also had nine touchdowns and went over the 1,000-yard mark for a third straight year. He completed his Bulldog career with 3,695 yards and 34 touchdowns.

He gives SC State its first such honoree since quarterback Marvin Marshall and running back Michael Hicks, earned back-to-back MEAC Player of the Year awards in 1994 and 1995, respectively.

Reed, a Georgetown, SC native, was one of the MEAC’s top offensive linemen during his four-year SC State career. He anchored the blocking for the Bulldogs, who consistently fielded one of the top rushing teams in the league, including the 2006 campaign.

Ford, of Travelers Rest, SC, made an immediate impact with the Bulldogs as he led the team in touchdowns with10 and tied Baker for scoring honors with 66 points. Named MEAC Rookie of the Week three times, Ford was also a top threat as a kickoff return specialist.

See below for the full MEAC All-MEAC team and postseason awardees:

2006 MEAC All-Conference Football Teams
Offensive Player of the Year: DeShawn Baker, South Carolina St.
Defensive Player of the Year: Justin Durant, Hampton
Rookie of the Year: William Ford, South Carolina St.
Offensive Lineman of the Year: Clyde Reed, South Carolina St.
Coach of the Year: Joseph Taylor, Hampton

QB Princeton Shepherd Sr. Hampton Columbia, S.C.
RB Deshawn Baker Sr. South Carolina State Charlotte, N.C.
RB Alonzo Coleman Sr. Hampton South Boston, Va.
TE John Allen Sr. Norfolk State Virginia Beach, Va.
WR Shaheer McBride Jr. Delaware State Chester, Pa.
WR Eric Weems Sr. Bethune-Cookman Ormond Beach, Fla.
OL Nevin McCaskill Sr. Hampton Tallahassee, Fla.
OL Clyde Reed Sr. South Carolina State Georgetown, S.C.
OL Daniel Parrish Sr. Florida A&M Tallahassee, Fla.
OL Jeremy Breath Jr. Delaware State Chicago, Ill.
C Raymond Harrison So. South Carolina State Columbia, S.C.

DL Rudolph Hardie Sr. Howard Hartford, Conn.
DL Kendall Langford Jr. Hampton Petersburg, Va.
DL Edwin Piner Sr. Howard Detroit, Mich.
DL Eric Turner Sr. South Carolina State Athens, Ga.
LB Justin Durant Sr. Hampton Florence, S.C.
LB Darius Leak Sr. Morgan State Chesapeake, Va.
LB Timothy Lockett Sr. Howard Greensboro, N.C.
DB Travarous Bain Sr. Hampton Miami, Fla.
DB Bobbie Williams Jr. Bethune-Cookman Miami, Fla.
DB Jason Beach So. Florida A&M Pensacola, Fla.
DB Jamel Trott Sr. Delaware State Georgetown, Del.
P Wesley Taylor Jr. Florida A&M Riverview, Fla.
P/K Andrew Paterini Sr. Hampton Gladstone, Mo.
Ret Roosevelt Kiser Sr. Florida A&M Fort Lauderdale, Fla

QB Albert Chester II. Jr. Florida A&M Jacksonville, Fla.
RB Emmanuel Marc Sr. Delaware State Spring Valley, N.Y.
RB Chad Simpson Jr. Morgan State Miami, Fla.
TE Victor Johnson Jr. Bethune-Cookman Altamonte Springs, Fla.
WR Marquay McDaniel Sr. Hampton Virginia Beach, Va.
WR Roosevelt Kiser Sr. Florida A&M Fort Lauderdale, Fla.
OL Clifford Louis Sr. Morgan State Stamford, Conn.
OL Derrick Upchurch Sr. Delaware State Chicago, Ill.
OL Emanuel Swindell Sr. Norfolk State Norfolk, Va.
OL James Lee Jr. South Carolina State Belle Glade, Fla.
C Travis Harmon Sr. Howard Miami, Fla.

DL Terrell Floyd Jr. Morgan State Pittsburgh, Pa.
DL Marcus Dixon Jr. Hampton Rome, Ga.
DL Tyrone McGriff Jr. Florida A&M Tallahassee, Fla.
DL Ramon McCullough Sr. Bethune-Cookman Daytona Beach, Fla.
LB Taurean Charles Sr. Bethune-Cookman Miami, Fla.
LB Vernon Wilder Jr. Florida A&M Miami, Fla.
LB Russell Reeves Jr. Delaware State Mechanicsville, Md.
DB Tyrone Kelly Sr. Delaware State Detroit, Mich.
DB Calvin Bannister Sr. Hampton Roanoke, Va.
DB Everett Baker Jr. Morgan State Orlando, Fla.
DB Geoffrey Pope Sr. Howard Detroit, Mich.
P Jahmal Blanchard Fr. Hampton Ft. Lauderdale, Fla.
P/K Jesus Cortez Sr. Bethune-Cookman Fort Meade, Fla.
Ret Kevin Teel So. Hampton Bowie, Md.