Three SC State University Alumni Inducted into the Thomas E. Miller Society

Thursday, February 25, 2010

During this year’s Founders’ Day weekend celebration, three loyal sons and daughters of SC State University were inducted into the Thomas E. Miller Society.

The Thomas E. Miller Society recognizes cumulative philanthropy from individuals, couples, organizations, associations, corporations and foundations who demonstrate commitment to the University and higher education by sharing their resources.

To be eligible for membership in the Thomas E. Miller Society, individuals or couples must have contributed $100,000 or more in cumulative giving to SC State University through the SC State University Foundation.

Corporations and foundations are eligible for membership with gift donations of $1 million dollars. Associations, businesses and organizations are required to invest $500,000.

The 2010 Thomas E. Miller Society inductees were:

Mrs. Carolyn Harris Brown (posthumously), ‘54
Mrs. Gracia Dawson, ‘37
Dr. Jonas T. Kennedy, ‘37

The Thomas E. Miller Society induction ceremony provides a public dedication to the principles of philanthropy and reaffirmation of the legacy and future of SC State University.