SC State University Celebrates 114 Years of Rich Heritage During Founders’ Day Convocation

Thursday, February 25, 2010

SC State University recently celebrated its 114th anniversary during the annual Founders’ Day Convocation on Sunday, Feb. 21, 2010.

Alumnus and Brigadier General Stephen M. Twitty, ’85, served as keynote speaker of the event and reminded everyone of the rich legacy of SC State University.

Echoing this year’s Founders’ Day theme, “Honoring Our Heritage: Forging Our Future,” Twitty expressed his sentiments regarding SC State’s history.

“As we reflect on our heritage and humble beginnings back in 1896, we are reminded that this University started as a small agriculture college as a result of segregation. Since that time the College has produced the most influential and notable graduates throughout the state of South Carolina and abroad,” noted Twitty.

He told about the many sacrifices made by individuals at the University, along with the characteristics they exhibited like hope, vision, intelligence, passion and determination.

“Our founders and students knew that they had very little resources to build this institution, yet they overcame, and now our alumni are local, state, national and international leaders,” explained Twitty.

Throughout his message, Twitty noted the achievements made by those who walked on the grounds of his beloved Alma Mater. He left a challenge for administrators, alumni, faculty, staff and students to continue the tradition that the University’s forefathers set.

“We must give back to the University what she so richly deserves, and we must rise to the call and continue to meet the values set by this University. Let’s forge together with bulldog tenacity,” concluded Twitty.

Also during the Founders’ Day Convocation, the class of 1959 was presented with the Distinguished Alumni Award for donating $221,500 to the University.

Distinguished Alumnus Awards were presented to Ned E. Felder, ’59, ‘61 and Brigadier General Stephen M. Twitty. The Distinguished Alumna Award was presented to Josephine Evans, ’54, ’57.

The Distinguished Community Service Award was presented to Don Tribble. The Distinguished Service Award was presented to Councilman Willie B. Owens, Sr., ’60, ’66.

The Outstanding Accomplishments and Achievements Award
was presented to Mr. Earl Wilson, ’77.

More than 50 faculty and staff members were honored for 10, 20 and 30 years of service at SC State.

Professor of the Year Awards were presented to: Dr. Paul Rienstra-Munnicha, College of Business and Applied Professional Sciences; Dr. William Legette, College of Education, Humanities and Social Sciences; Dr. Stevo Bozinovski, College of Science, Mathematics and Engineering Technology and Dr. Jesulon Gibbs, Educational Leadership.

Staff Employee of the Year Awards were presented to: Valerie Mack, Division of Academic Affairs; Virginia Hildebrand, Division of Finance, Facilities and Management Information Systems; David Igiozee, Division of Institutional Advancement; Zetty Glenn, Office of the President; Dr. Louis Whitesides, Division of Research and Economic Development; and Lillian Adderson, Division of Student Affairs.

In addition to each awardee receiving personal recognition from President George E. Cooper and division vice presidents, a plaque and monetary gift was given during the Professor and Staff Employee of the Year Luncheon, held on Wednesday, Feb. 17, 2010.

Dr. William Legette, professor of political science and history, was recognized as the University Professor of the Year, while Dr. Louis Whitesides, 1890 research administrator, was recognized as the University Staff Member of the Year.

Legette and Whitesides, who received top honors among seven of their peers, will receive a one year “reserve” parking designated for Staff of the Year and Professor of the Year, as well as other perks.