SC State University Students Inducted into the Professional Nursing Honor Society

Tuesday, April 13, 2010

Forty-nine SC State University students were recently inducted into the Professional Nursing Honor Society. “The Professional Nursing Honor Society organization was formed to recognize excellence within the student body and to highlight the positive contributions that our students make in and outside of the classroom,” said Dr. Gwenneth Simmonds, assistant professor of Obstetrics Nursing.

Members inducted into the Professional Nursing Honor Society will become charter members of Sigma Theta Tau, Inc. Sigma Theta Tau, Inc. is the International Honor Society of Nursing and offers leadership programs, mentoring opportunities and career development resources to enhance nurses’ leadership skills, unique gifts and talents.

“When you do nothing you feel overwhelmed and powerless. But when you get involved into a society that focuses on academic achievement and leadership, you feel the sense of hope and accomplishment that comes from knowing you are working to make things better,” said Felicia Barnes, Professional Nursing Honor Society honoree.

Lynn Ross, ’01 SC State alumna, served as the keynote speaker during the Professional Nursing Honor Society’s ceremony. Ross is the nurse educator at Sister of Charity Providence Hospital located in Columbia, S.C.

The honorees were recognized for their excellence in five key areas, academic achievement, peer leadership, service learning, student organization participation and leadership.

The following students were recently inducted into the Professional Nursing Honor Society:

Felicia Barnes                                     Whitney James                                    Natasha Roper
Aricia Binder                                        Tamarah Johnson                               Melody Sampson
Alma Boone                                         Princetta Jones                                    Alex Seawright
Delphine Brown                                  Felisha Livingston                               Sharneise Simmons            
Jasmine Brown                                   Stephanie Louis-Jacques                 SaQuoya Smith   
Domonick Butler                                 Ala Lucky                                               Tom Spencer                       
Ashley Cannick                                    Krystal Major                                        Jasmine Stovall   
Porsha Canzater                                  Ashley Mars                                         Kerra Tindal        
Brittany Carlos                                     Lea McKinnon                                      Chibueze Ubah
Alonzo Chisholm                                Trevor Mitchell                                       Demetria Ward
Yolanda Cohen                                    Daniel Odegbe                                    Erica Wiley
Charody Crite                                      John Odegbe                                        Ashley Williams
Dorothy Davis                                      Tochukwu Onyekwelu                        Kendra Wilson
Benita Denton                                      William Outler                                      Antinesha Wyatt
Kimberly Gamble                                Dana Pickering                                    Amanda Ziegler
Shannon Gissentaner                       Derrick Randerson
Kalu Iroha                                             Harvey Rock                                                                                                                      

For additional information about the Professional Nursing Honor Society, contact Dr. Bobbie Perdue, Program of Nursing CARE center director and professor at (803)533-3616.