Three Committed SC State University Alumni Inducted into the 2010 ROTC Army Hall of Fame

Thursday, April 15, 2010

2010 Hall of Fame InductionWith more than 2016 minority officers and 14 general officers in the U.S. Army, SC State University’s ROTC Army Program continues to build upon the legacy and commitment to service. SC State University’s Department of Military Science’s ROTC Program will host the 2010 Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony on Friday, April 16, 2010 from 11 a.m. to 2 p.m. at the K.W. Green Student Center’s Bulldog Lounge located on SC State’s campus.

The Department of Military Science was established at SC State University (formerly South Carolina Agricultural and Mechanical College) during the 1947-48 academic school year. From 1947 to 1968, enrollment in the ROTC Army Program was mandatory for all able-bodied freshmen and sophomore male students. The first graduating class in 1949 consisted of six cadets, five who received regular army commissions and one received a reserve commission.

Since its establishment, the ROTC Army Program has commissioned 2,026 students into the Armed Forces. A cross enrollment program was initiated in 1968 to permit students from other local institutions that did not have a ROTC Program to receive training at SC State University. SC State University has a cross enrollment agreement with Claflin University, Voorhees College, Denmark Technical College, and Orangeburg-Calhoun Technical College.

The criterion for the ROTC Army Hall of Fame is that an inductee must be a graduate of the ROTC Army Battalion, to include Claflin University and Voorhees College. 

  • Inductees must also attain the rank of Colonel or higher.
  • Inductees must have attained the rank of 2nd Lieutenant or higher and awarded the Bronze Star Medal with valor or a higher award in the nation's defense.
  • Inductees can also be individuals who did not pursue the military as a career, but made significant contributions to society or achieved national prominence.
  • Inductees can also be an individual who has provided extraordinary service and/or support to the ROTC Army Program, who has not been commissioned through the ROTC Army Program.

The inaugural ROTC Army Hall of Fame Induction occurred in 1978, and since then 91 individuals have been inducted.

The three inductees for the 2010 ROTC Hall of Fame are:
Brigadier Nolen V. Bivens, ‘76
Colonel Retired Douglass Glover, ‘79 
Colonel Gerald L. Gladney, ‘84

These inductees are nominated by their peers and voted upon by the Hall of Fame electoral board.

SC State’s University Bulldog Battalion averages approximately 100 cadets, and it continues to be recognized as one of the largest producers of minority officers for the United States Army.

“The 2010 inductees are most deserving.  As an alumni of SC State University and ROTC Army Program, I truly appreciate their contributions to society, the Army, and the University,” said Lieutenant Colonel Anthony Watson, ’84.

For additional information about the 2010 Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony contact the department of Military Science at (803) 536-7233 or contact Lieutenant Colonel Anthony Watson, at (803) 536- 8949.