SC State University Students Inducted Into Business Honor Society

Friday, May 7, 2010

Business HonorTwenty-three SC State University students and two faculty members were recently inducted into Beta Gamma Sigma, the Scholastic Honor Society for the Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business (AACSB International). The induction ceremony was held by the Beta Gamma Sigma key in front of Belcher Hall on the campus of SC State University.

Carlson Austin, society advisor and assistant professor of Management, presided over the ceremony.  Beta Gamma Sigma members participating in the ceremony included: Ellen Ricoma, director of Quality Assurance; Russell Simon, junior accounting major and president of Kappa Upsilon; and Dr. David Jamison, associate professor of Marketing and International Business minor advisor.

“Our AACSB accreditation affords us the opportunity to honor top students with the Beta Gamma Sigma Award,” said Dr. Robert T. Barrett, dean of the College of Business and Applied Professional Sciences.  “We are very proud of the academic accomplishments of these honor students!”

The following students, who were inducted into Beta Gamma Sigma, are in the top ten percent of their respective junior or senior classes:

Margarita Aksyonova
Karen Bussey
Carl Curnell, Jr.
Naomi Curry
Fanni Fricska
Nedrick Green
Beverly Hawkins
Ontrell Hicks
Inveta Blodnice
Ashley Jackson
Jenae Jackson
David Kershaw
Linnie Garrett
Shanta Mack
Lavonia McKelvey
Kayla Miller
Kristen Pratt
Radek Langer
Daria Sekerina
Rahul Singh
Shavone Slocum
Dervedia Thomas
Antwain Toombs

The following faculty members were inducted into Beta Gamma Sigma:

Dr. Gerald Gonsalves
Dr. Marion Sillah

For more information about Beta Gamma Sigma or other SC State University business programs, contact Dr. Robert T. Barrett at (803)536-8186.