logo for page printing

South Carolina State University Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees is the governing body of SC State University, charged by the state of South Carolina to oversee the operation and management of the university. Guided by its bylaws, members of the board execute its functions to ensure the university remains viable for this and future generations. In such capacity, the Board shall define the mission, role and scope of the university; establish the general policies of the university; plan the university's broad program of educational activity; approve the budget for the fiscal year, assist in soliciting financial resources and serves as an advocate for the university as well as provide ultimate accountability to the public and the South Carolina General Assembly.

The governing board will operate free from undue influence from political, religious, other external entities or bodies and protect the institution from such influence. While the board directs the president to implement and achieve policies and goals, the president is ultimately responsible for the day-to-day management of the university.

McMaster Henry McMaster
Governor of South Carolina
Ex-Officio Chair
rodjenkins Rodney C. Jenkins ‘73
CEO, PRJ Consulting, LLC
Donnie Shell Donnie Shell, ‘74
Retired Pittsburgh Steeler and NFL Executive
Jamel Allen Jameel Allen, Sr '01
Vice President, Business Development & Strategy for Charah Solutions & Allied Powe
Starlee Alexander Starlee D. Alexander
Insurance Agent
Louvette Dicks Dr. Louvette Roseboro Dicks '79 '14
Retired Educator
Ronald Friday Ronald D. Friday
Retired Farmer
Douglas Gantt Douglas Gantt '84
Pharmaceutical Sales/Real Estate Entrepreneur
Doris Helms Dr. Doris Helms
Retired Provost, Clemson University
Colonel Oden_1 Colonel William L. Oden
Chief of Staff for Cyber Security and Intel
Monica Scott

Monica R. Scott
Retired VP, College of Charleston
Wilbur Shuler

Dr. Wilbur B. Shuler ‘68
Retired University Administrator
Marcie SMith

Dr. Macie P. Smith '99
Diversified Training Consultants Group
CEO | Licensed Gerontology Social Worker
Daniel Varat

Dr. Daniel R. Varat
Director of Advancement, A Child's Haven


Johnny Funny
Mr. John J. Funny '87
President, SC State University National Alumni Association
President / CEO
Grice Consulting Group, LLC

Sainyo Photo

Javonni Ayers
President, Student Government Association
David Staten

Dr. David Staten '92 '94
President, Faculty Senate
Franklin Pressley

Franklin Pressley
Staff Senate President