SC State University's Army ROTC Program to Host Annual Commissioning Ceremony

Thursday, May 6, 2010

SC State University’s Army ROTC Program will host their annual commissioning ceremony on Thursday, May 6, 2010 at 2 p.m. in the Dr. Barbara A. Vaughan Fine Arts Recital Hall, located on the campus of SC State University.

“This ceremony is filled with tradition and significance, especially for the Bulldog Battalion and the newly commissioned officers,” said Lieutenant Colonel Anthony Watson, assistant professor of military science. “You never forget participating in one of these events. I will never forget my commissioning ceremony 26 years ago. I now have the opportunity to produce officers for the Army from the same battalion. That makes me as proud as those parents watching their young adults embark on a new endeavor,” said Watson. 

The criterion for commissioning includes successfully completing or receiving credit for the ROTC basic and advance courses, attending and successfully completing the Leadership Development and Assessment Course (LDAC) at Ft. Lewis, Wash., and attaining a Bachelor of Arts, a Bachelor of Science degree and/or a master’s degree from a four year college or university.

Post-graduation, commissioning students will attend their specific basic course and prepare to assume duties in their first assignment. Those that are in Active Duty Army may be deployed immediately.  Those that are Army Reserve or National Guard will be attached to a unit and will begin drilling as a second lieutenant.

Zuri V. Stackhouse, Miss SC State University 2009-2010 and a second generation officer, is ecstatic about this achievement. “I am very excited about commissioning this year. We all have worked so hard in ROTC and this will be our final reward,” said Stackhouse. “My parents are so proud of all my accomplishments this year, and this is the final celebration.”

The following eight students will be commissioned:
Philetha Henryhand- SC State University
Curtis Jones- SC State University
Walter Kinlaw- SC State University
Travis Montgomery- SC State University
Zuri V. Stackhouse- SC State University
Gary Williams- SC State University
Tywone Williams- SC State University
Derick Wilson- Claflin University