Presidential Search Committee Selects Finalists

Tuesday, May 6, 2008

SC State University’s Presidential Search Committee chairman, Maurice G. Washington, today, announces the names of three finalists for the presidency of the SC State University.

The finalists whose names were forwarded to the SC State University Board of Trustees, by the Search Committee for consideration, in alphabetical order, are:

JOHNSON O. AKINLEYE, Ph.D., currently the associate vice chancellor for academic programs at the University of North Carolina, Wilmington;

GEORGE E. COOPER, Ph.D., currently the deputy administrator, for Science and Education Resources Development at the U.S. Department of Agriculture;

JUANITA P. FAIN, Ph. D., currently the vice president for planning at the University of Nevada, (Las Vegas).

“I sincerely thank each and every member of SC State’s Presidential Search Committee for their commitment, dedication, and professionalism,” Washington stated. “The members were fully engaged in the process from the beginning, and have now, handed off to the Board of Trustees, three very capable presidential finalists,” he continued.

Last week, the five candidates met with students, faculty, staff, alumni, and community members during their visits to SC State’s campus. With the assistance of feedback received from SC State’s stakeholders, the search committee was able to decide on the three finalists to be forwarded to the Board for consideration.


Washington continued his praise of the search committee, by saying the individuals who serve, have ensured that the search process was "fair and open, but most importantly transparent.”


"From the onset, we, the Board, charged the search committee with being above board, and without exception, and they have done as requested. Now, we, the SC State Board of Trustees must complete the most important task of a governing body, which is to appoint a president, and we intend to do just that.”


As I will continue to say, our future is brighter than our past,” Washington concluded.

It is the expectation that the newly appointed president will take office on July 1, 2008.

Information about the search process can be found at