Skip To Top NavigationSkip To ContentSkip To Section NavigationSkip To Footer
Board of Trustees

Board of Trustees

South Carolina State University Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees is the governing body of SC State University, charged by the state of South Carolina to oversee the operation and management of the university.

Guided by its bylaws, members of the board execute its functions to ensure the university remains viable for this and future generations. In such capacity, the Board shall define the mission, role and scope of the university; establish the general policies of the university; plan the university’s broad program of educational activity; approve the budget for the fiscal year, assist in soliciting financial resources and serves as an advocate for the university as well as provide ultimate accountability to the public and the South Carolina General Assembly.

The governing board will operate free from undue influence from political, religious, other external entities or bodies and protect the institution from such influence. While the board directs the president to implement and achieve policies and goals, the president is ultimately responsible for the day-to-day management of the university.

Board of Trustees Bylaws

Meeting Dates

Previous Meeting Minutes

Board Members

Ex-officio Members

Hank Allen
SCSU National Alumni President

Dr. Franklin Pressley
Staff Senate President

Zyah Cephus
Student Government Association President

Alexander Thierry
Faculty Senate President

Administrative Coordinator

Eartha J. Mosley

Administrative Coordinator II

Office of the Board of Trustees

William R. Lowman Hall 303